RSS Feed (xml)

Couldnt find? Then.....

Monday, 21 June 2010

TWAS-CAS Postgraduate Fellowship Programme, China

The Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Beijing, China, and TWAS offer up to twenty fellowships per year to young scientists from developing countries (other than China) who wish to undertake the last year of their PhD research in China.

Important: The following is additional information concerning the TWAS-CAS Postgraduate Fellowship Programme tenable in China. It is an integral part of the information given here: TWAS Fellowships for Postgraduate Research

Programme Details
* TWAS-CAS Postgraduate Fellowships in natural sciences are tenable for a minimum period of six months to a maximum period of twelve months at the research institutions of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. This is not a full PhD programme, but specifically enables PhD students to carry out all or part of the final year of their research programme in China.

* Eligible CAS institutions: More than 80 CAS institutes in China participate in this Fellowship programme. For a complete list please and, in particular,

* CAS will provide a standard monthly allowance which should be used to cover living costs, such as accommodation, food and health insurance. Only emergency medical aid will be available, if necessary. The monthly stipend will not be convertible into foreign currency.

* The language of instruction is English.

Applicants for these Fellowships must meet the following criteria:

* be a maximum age of 35 years on 31 December of the application year;
* be nationals of a developing country (other than China);
* hold a Master’s degree in a field of the natural sciences;
* be registered PhD students in their home country;
* be accepted at a CAS-listed institution participating in the scheme and provide an official acceptance letter from the host institution (see sample Acceptance Letter, page 6) to this effect; and
* provide evidence of proficiency in English or Chinese.

Submitting your application
* The deadline for receipt of applications is 31 August of each year.
* Applicants should submit the acceptance letter from a CAS institution to CAS and TWAS when applying or by the deadline at the latest. Without preliminary acceptance, the application will not be considered for selection.
* Reference letters: Referees must send signed letters as attachments via e-mail directly to TWAS and CAS The subject line must contain: CAS/PG/candidate’s surname. Alternatively, letters should be sent by post in sealed envelopes.
* Applicants to the TWAS-CAS Postgraduate Fellowship Programme should send their application to TWAS and CAS.
* Applicants should be aware that they can apply for only one fellowship per year. With the exception of the fellowships “for research collaboration”, all other fellowship programmes offered by TWAS and TWOWS that are mutually exclusive.

Application Form:
Click on the links below to download the application form and guidelines. Before applying it is recommended that you read very carefully the application guidelines for detailed information on eligibility criteria, deadlines and other key requirements of the application procedure.
*PG  Application Form
*PG Application Guidelines 

Contact Information
TWAS Fellowships Office
ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11
34151 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39 040 2240314
Fax: +39 040 2240689

TWAS Beijing Office
Bureau of International Cooperation
Chinese Academy of Sciences
52 Sanlihe Road
100864 Beijing, China
Tel: +86 10 68597531
Fax: +86 10 68597543

Further Scholarship Information

No comments:

Post a Comment

Recent Scholarships

Popular Posts